top of page



2021-2023 NAEAA Board of Directors

  • Chair: Rebecca Splan, PhD, Delaware Valley University (2019)

  • Vice-Chair: Sara Mastellar, PhD, Ohio State ATI (2020)

  • Secretary: Leslie Janecka, BS, Kentucky Equine Management Program (KEMI) (2016)

  • Kim Guay, PhD, Tarleton State University (2018)

  • Grey Parks, MS, Tennessee Farmers Cooperative (2019)

  • Shea Porr, PhD, Murray State University (2020)

  • Debra Powell, PhD, PECTS in Nelsonville OH (2020)
  • Betsy Greene, PhD, University of Arizona (2021)
  • Jessica Suagee-Bedore, PhD, Virginia Tech (2021)
  • Karl Hoopes, DVM, Utah State University (2021)
  • Aubrey Jaqueth, PhD, Wright State University (2022)
  • Lena Luck, PhD, University of Nebraska (2022)
  • Crystal Smith, EdD, West Virginia University (2022)


Information about joining the Board can be found in the Call for Board nominations.

Leadership: Board

Advisors to the Board

  • Executive Director: Karin Bump, PhD, (2007)-(COO)-(Organization Co-Founder)

  • Tim Williams, MBA, Equine Academics and CJC Adventures, LLC. (2007)-(CFO)-(Organization Co-Founder)

  • Preceding Board Chair: Amy Burk, PhD, University of Maryland (2007)-(Founding Board Member)    

Previous NAEAA Board Members

  • John Madden, John Madden Sales-(Founding Board Member)

  • William Schurg, PhD, University of Arizona-(Founding Board Member)

  • Laurie Lawrence, PhD, University of Kentucky-(Founding Board Member)

  • Camie Heleski, PhD, Michigan State University-(Founding Board Member)

  • Tim Capps, University of Louisville-(Founding Board Member)

  • Carol Buckhout, MPS, Cazenovia College-(Founding Board Member)

  • Shannon Moreaux, DVM, Montana State University

  • Katrina Merkies, PhD, University of Guelph, CAN

  • Kari Turner, PhD, University of Georgia

  • Jeff Pendergraft, PhD, Pendergraft Associates (2014)

  • Judy Downer, PhD, College of Central Florida (2014)

  • Janice Holland, PhD, Midway College (2016)

  • Lynn Taylor, PhD, Centenary University (2016)

  • Lee Wood, MS, Southern Utah University (2019)

Board Chair History: 

  • Karin Bump, PhD - Executive Director and  Board Chair 2007-2018

  • Amy O. Burk, PhD - Board Chair 2018-2021

  • Rebecca Splan, PhD - Board Chair 2021-2023

Leadership: Text


Aubrey Jaqueth (Co-Chair)

Betsy Greene (Co-Chair)

Amy Burk
Karl Hoopes
Jacquelyn Bowser
Kelly Riccitelli
Trinette Jones

Rebecca Splan

Shea Porr (Chair)
Crystal Smith
Michelle Kibler


Jessica Bedore (Co-Chair)

Camie Heleski (Co-chair)

Grey Parks

Debra Powell

Sarah Rigg

Bob Coleman

Karin Bump

Sara Mastellar (Co-Chair)

Lena Luck (Co-Chair)

Cory Kieschnick

Jennifer Earing
Danielle Smarsh


Rebecca Splan (Co-Chair)

Lena Luck (Co-Chair)

Amy Biddle

Jill Stowe

Kim Cole

Shea Porr

Karin Bump (Co-Chair)

Lynn Taylor

Laurie Chapman-Bosco
Kathi Jogan


Kristen Wilson (Co-Chair)

Crystal Smith (Co-Chair)
Stephanie Jones
Casie Bass
Katheryn Cerny

Karen Wimbush

bottom of page